What Are We Being Taught?

Hey guys welcome back. I’m so sorry that this is late. You have no idea how bad it makes me feel but I actually wrote this about an hour ago but then my computer shut itself down to update just as I was about to press publish. It finally finished doing that but I just wanted to make this quick edit.

Now that that’s out of the way…

This post stems from a video I was just watching that kind of hit me with a massive truth bomb. I think about this issue constantly but this video was filled with truths I have never thought of. Just in case you want to check it out it is called Don’t Stay In School.

Take a moment to think. Where are you from? What is you’re education like? What are you being taught?

Is your school teaching you about important things like finances and government?

I cant tell you a single thing about the US government and how that works. I don’t know what any of that means. But I can tell you all about the different governments of ancient Greece! Why is that?!?!

I should know about real world issues. I couldn’t tell you a single US law but I can tell you how to find the area of a triangle!!!!!!

Why am I not being educated on things that will prepare me for the real world.

TELL ME WHEN IM GOING TO NEED TO USE A UNIT RATE! TELL ME WHEN IM GOING TO NEED TO KNOW HOW TO SUMARIZE A BOOK! OR HOW THE BATTLE AT MARATHON WAS FOUGHT! OR HOW ABOUT MAGNETISM?!?! WHEN WILL I NEED THIS?

That’s what collage is for. To teach me things I will need to know based on the career I choose.

Eventually I will need to know about taxes, houses, stocks, can someone please explain that stuff. I don’t know about you but where I’m from we have a state test which kids in grades 3-8 have to take unless your parents tell the school that they are not allowing you to take it. All year we are taught things that may or may not appear on the sate test. After that we still learn things we will eventually have to take a test on but its still ridicules how much I stress over things I’m never going to need to know.

Late in the year a girl in my school was killed in a car accident. So you would’ve thought that at least 8th graders would’ve been taught a little bit about traffic laws. NOPE.

My point is that if you feel that you aren’t learning things you will need to know don’t rebel against the government but explain to your parents how you feel and educate yourself in topics you feel are important to know about. Better you know now than have to figure it out on your own once you’re done with school.

Anyway thanks for listening to my little rant. Also thanks for 10 follows!

See ya soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

Leave a Reply

