Story Time

Hey guys welcome back. So today I wanted to tell you another story. I hope you find this slightly entertaining.

So this morning my brothers had football practice. It was opening day and parents were supposed to be there. The rest of my family went  and I stayed home with my dog. ( He’s a great guard dog. Not really :p )About an hour after they left my mom calls. She basically said that my grandmother was having old friends over and she wanted my brothers and I to meet them. I agreed to go and put the thought of meeting people in the back of my mind. I’ve always found it hard to meet new people but I was recently told by a doctor that I have social anxiety so….

Later I started to get ready. Took a shower got dressed stuff like that. Finally we head to my grandmother’s house. I decided against bringing my iPod and I wish I had. I walked to my grandmother’s front door, heart nearly beating out of my chest. As I walk into the house I took a long look at the 2 new people waiting at the top of the stairs. They were older and nice looking. I go up and the lady shook my hand, however the man decided it was a good idea to kiss my cheek. I HAVE NEVER MET THESE PEOPLE IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now my anxiety was through the roof. We walked to the living room. I sat down in a chair facing away from the TV. Everyone was watching football. ( American football for all the international people reading ) Finally we get to the dining room. I sat in the seat I always sit in at my grandmothers house.  The man sits right next to me. We all start eating and then I notice that the lady doesn’t stop talking. She told us every detail of every trip they’d ever taken to California. EVER. I just wanted to text my friends and pour out my feelings but I couldn’t. I wanted to look like a good kid and my brother made that easy. He knocked over a glass of milk, ate like a pig, and kept yelling whenever he said anything.

Finally it was time to go and I was so relieved to leave. I jus wanted to come home and blog. But as we’re saying goodbye, THE MAN KISSED MY CHEE AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! At this point I just felt like crying.

Anyway I hope you guys enjoyed this. Thanks for reading.

See ya soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

3 thoughts on “Story Time

  1. Lori and Jamie 08/01/15 / 10:24p09

    Jamie here….enjoyed your post. I think most teens honestly dread the visits to meet grandma’s friends-so tip of the hat to you for going without a rebellious spirit and taking one for the family team AND for using good manners:)

    I will say…on the cheek kissing. I’m in the Deep South and that is simply the norm here! It’s just how we say hello and goodby…Rarely is it an adult to teen greeting but consider it as maybe you were more like one of the adults and less like someone sitting at the kids table! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lori and Jamie 08/01/15 / 10:24p09

    Oops my comment deleted…the struggle is real!

    Enjoyed the post! I think all teens honestly dread the go meet grandmas friends nights! Bravo to you for being on your best behavior and while you missed the escape of texting your friends-that probably would have been rude so worked out a-okay!

    I will say…on the cheek kissing thing, I live deep in the south and that is common practice and simply how we say hello and goodby. Think of it this way, usually that’s reserved for the adult people so you must have carried yourself in a way that is more adult than kids table (like your brother) and that speaks volumes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

