Blog-Mas Day 2

Hey guys welcome back. So I scheduled this to go up and I’m at school right now. Basically I will have 1 hour when I get home and then I will have to rush to the doctor so I can have my feet examined. Hopefully I get home in time to write the regular post. I think I’m going to schedule that too. But enough of that. Into the theme of today.

Family Traditions.

I feel like every family has at least one holiday tradition that always sticks out to them so today I’d like to share a few of mine with you.

Now I am half catholic and half Jewish. My family however isn’t religious, we don’t go to church or synagogue or anything like that. In fact I didn’t know that Rosh Hashanah was the Jewish new year until like last year. Oops. So don’t expect any really religious praying or anything.

Hanukkah

The first tradition my family has is that on the first night of Hanukah every year, we have dinner at my grandmother’s house. However this year, silly me planned my birthday party on the first night so idk how that’s going to work out.

The second tradition is that we always light the menorah together. For as long as I can remember my grandma has always held the candle and me and my brothers place a hand on top of hers. We light the first candle together every year. ( If you don’t know there are 9 candles on a menorah and the one in the center is used to light the others )

Christmas

My family’s first Christmas tradition is staying in our pajamas pretty much all day. We open gifts like that, we watch movies lie that, we only get dressed for dinner. Which conveniently brings me to my next tradition.

Christmas dinner. I know these are traditions most people have but basically, my aunt & her husband, as well as my grandma and uncle s if he is visiting, all come over for dinner and gift exchanges.

And finally, we always leave our Christmas tree up until January 1st. I like this tradition a lot because there is something about taking the tree down that feels like a fresh start, like the new year is really upon us.

 

Okay guys that’s it. I really hope you enjoyed this and who knows, maybe we have similar traditions. Even if mine are pretty normal, I really like them and I don’t think the holidays would be any fun without them.

See ya soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

Leave a Reply

