My Thoughts On Group Projects

11/7/16

Hey guys, welcome back. So I’m sure this is not the first post I’ve written like this and I can almost garuntee it will not be the last. I suggest you brace yourself for a rant.

I think we can all agree that group projects, 99.5% of the time, suck. Just why? Who decided that it was a good idea to throw students into groups and make them do work together?

Maybe this is just me being an awkward introvert but c’mon. If you told me you like group projects, I don’t know if I could take you seriously.

“Dani, where is this coming from?”

Well you see, in my school we have Tech class. Everybody takes it and in 8th grade you have it for half the year. Currently in Tech, we are programming robots. Or at least we were, we finished today.

Our teacher let us pick partners to work with fir the project and I ended up with another girl in the class who I didn’t really know because neither of us had friends in there. We worked well together and got a lot done but then, we’ll call her Natasha, joined our group.

Natasha’s partner went to Oregon so she didn’t have anyone to work with. And because we’re nice, we let her work with us. Except she took over the whole damn operation.

Natasha always thought she was right and when I tried to tell her she wasn’t she would simply brush it off. We had to make the robot move in a square, Natasha made the square too big. We had to make it move in a triangle, Natasha refused to believe she wasn’t measuring the angles right.

But today, I lost it.

My teacher set up a simple maze on Friday and we had to program our robots to move through it. We got halfway done and all we had to do was save the program. But Natasha didn’t want to save it and inepstead wrote it all out on a sheet of paper. So she took 5 minutes to re-write the program.

We continued with the maze but whenever I tried to tell her what wasn’t working, she just did whatever to “fix” it. And so, with two minutes left in the period, we went to test our program again. I decided to take the initiative and show the teacher what we had so we could get some credit. But the line was too long so by the time I placed the robot down, the bell rang and I knew I couldn’t be late for my next class.

This might be a good time to mention that this was a 20 point assignment. We got zero credit for it. So now my average has to suffer because of Natasha. The other girl just kind of gave up and accepted her fate but I was livid. I couldn’t even go in during lunch to show him because all our work was on Natasha’s account.

So yes, I hate group projects. They only go two ways. 1) your group is lazy so you do all the work 2) one person takes over, doesn’t let anybody do anything, and does it all wrong.

Okay that’s it. I won’t make you sit through that any longer but honestly I could go on for hours. Thanks for reading this incredibly long post.

See ya soon!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

Leave a Reply

