The Pressure To “Glow” Up

11/20/16

Hey guys, welcome back. SHHH! It most definitely is not 12:45 AM on a Sunday night as I write this. PFFFTTT, who do you think I am? Now quiet before you wake my parents….

Recently I’ve noticed that my friends are quite obsessed with this phenomenon known as “The ‘Glow’ Up”. And through my extensive scientific research ( AKA creepily intently listening in on all their conversations), I’ve come to the conclusion that the “glow” up is something that occurs between middle and high school where everyone gets super good-looking.

Now, before late last year I had never even heard of this and that’s probably because none of the guys in my school are all that good-looking to begin with. I mean, yeah sure, there are a few that all the girls go crazy for but I don’t know, I guess even if they are okay looking I know they’re all mostly jerks anyway.

However, now that I know about this, I’ve started to wonder.

That’s a lot of pressure to put on a person. I can’t just leave all the work to puberty and hope for the best. NO! That’s not how this works. I have to start putting effort into my appearance? Is that what your telling me. Hair and makeup? What do you mean?! Ponytail and clean face for life!

But if I don’t do anything and every other girl gets super pretty over the summer, than I’m just gonna be way uglier by comparison! So this isn’t really a fair system now is it.

Ugh, I guess I could start small. You know just let my hair down once in a while and put on some mascara. Maybe not where sweatshirts 24/7. But overall, I’m pretty okay with my appearance. I honestly don’t care enough to put the extra effort in that other girls do. I know some girls who spend an hour getting ready for school. I spend literally 20 minutes getting ready which I’m okay with, I like the extra sleep thank you.

Do you have any experience with “The ‘Glow’ Up”? Is it real? Will everyone in my high school be really good looking all of a sudden or will we all still be potatoes? My guess is the second one.

See ya soon!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

Leave a Reply

