Rediscovering Old Passions

4/27/17

Hey guys, welcome back. In the last two weeks or so, I’ve been starting to do more things. As I feel better, I find that I am able to work harder and as a result I have more free time.

And because of all this glorious free time, I have rediscovered some old passions of mine.

One of them being gardening. Don’t ask me why but for some reason I absolutely love gardening. I love planting the flowers and taking care of them and weeding and raking out the flower beds at the start of spring. I don’t mind the sweat that will inevitable pour down my face no matter how cool it is. I don’t care that my arms and back and thighs ache for days after.

I used to help my mother in the garden all the time. Back when my homework took 15 minutes to do, I used to go out on the spring time with my mom and plant flowers.  And those are some of my favorite memories.

The day before Easter I went outside with my mom to help her decorate the house. And then when we finished and it was still light out, we decided to do some work in the garden. And I loved it. It felt so nice to be out there again, away from a screen, alone with my thoughts, enjoying the serenity that comes with living in a small town.

Another thing I have recently rediscovered is my love of art. Now it isn’t exactly something I’ve ever forgotten but art in general has kind of taken a back seat for the last couple of months. The other night, I just picked up a notebook and started to doodle. At first, I’m not going to lie, my drawings sucked. They looked terrible.

But then I had the idea to look up some simple drawings on google and try to recreate those. It was around this point that I would normally get discouraged. I would see how amazing those drawings were and how bad mine were and then I expected to give up. But I didn’t. I tried one and sent a picture to one of my friends asking for his opinion. Now this friend is someone I go to when I need a laugh. I was still feeling a bit insecure about my art and discouraged. So I figured he could help me in that aspect.

Instead however, he gave me actual good advice on how I could improve my drawing. I took his advice and it actually helped my little drawing come to life. I tried another and another. And I was proud of both. The next day I drew another one and I’m really proud of them. I will try to insert pictures but I’m not sure if they’ll work out.

I’m really happy that I’m getting back into these things because they are things that mean a lot to me and that have always been a big part of my life. Thanks for reading and have a great rest if your day or night.

See ya soon!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

One thought on “Rediscovering Old Passions

  1. Jazz 08/01/15 / 10:24p04

    That’s really nice!! Gardening is a very enjoyable hobby for me too!! It just enriches your soul with the goodness of nature and puts you on the fresh side of life. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

