An Update

5/19/17

Hey guys, welcome back! I feel like it’s been forever since I’ve said that but I have an actual, good, legitimate excuse this time. I promise. Once you hear it you’ll understand.

Drumroll please.

*obnoxiously long drumroll*

I finally went back to school!

Thats right I’ve made my return everyone! Finally after a three month disappearance with no explination, I’m back with once again zero explination to anyone but one person.

I went back last Monday but then unfortunately got an awful cold that basically left me clinging to my bed for dear life. In fact I still have said cold now. (More about this cold and how embarrassing it is in a bit)

As of now I’m only going into school half days. After lunch I leave. But it’s fine. I’m okay with it for now. Next week I’m hoping to stay for another period after that.  I’m also returning to school for 8th period every other day for my orchestra class. My final concert with the only orchestra teacher I’ve ever known- who is absolutely wonderful by the way- is next Tuesday. I’m so sad to be leaving her because she’s been there for me through some of the hardest years in my life. She always makes me smile and feel confident in my music, even when I know I’m doing horrible. Hopefully I’ll be able to visit her when I’m in high school.

Anyway I’ve been working super hard to catch up on all my work. I’m finally replacing my math/science tutor with much better people. People who I know are amazing and will actually get me to where I need to be.

Finals are in about 5 weeks and I’m terrified. I get special accommodations if I want to use them. Separate testing location, extended time, etc. and if I don’t think I’m ready I can take them during the make up days the following week.

But what I’m most nervous for is my Spanish final. I don’t know how I’m going to do it. I just haven’t been memorizing anything. I’ve been learning the material enough to take the test on it and move on. I’m so scared and I don’t know how I’m ever going to make up all my work AND take finals.

But back to my cold.

Because I’m near the end of it, it’s for the most part just a slightly congested nose and a cough.

“Oh Dani if it’s only that then what’s the big deal?”

Oh let me tell you.

This specific kind of cough is the kind you get because of a tickle in your throat. You know the one, you’ve had it. It’ll send you into an uncontrollable coughing fit either until the tickle goes away or you’re so embarrassed you want to implode.

During science on Monday, out of nowhere I start violently coughing. At first it’s quiet and I’m kind of controlling it. But it gets worse and worse until every time I take a breath I cough so loud that nobody can hear my teacher. By now I’m kind of crying from all the coughing and hiding behind my hair as I dig through my backpack desperately trying to find water. I take a sip and feel nothing. It didn’t help. By now my face is bright red, I’m sweating buckets, tears are streaming down my face and when I finally tuck my hair behind my ear and look up, half the class is staring at me. I was so embarrassed the I practically ran to second period, still coughing through the halls.

Then today, I was having such a coughing fit this morning that I couldn’t even go in. But I went for orchestra and everything was fine, until out of nowhere I start to cough uncontrollably.  It got so bad and went on for so long that my stand partner and closest friend in the class, started laughing at me and counting how many times I coughed. I was mortified and when I got to my bus I tried to find water, nothing. I forgot to pack water. I put a cough drop in my mouth and hoped for the best but I was still coughing when I got home.

Anyway I’m sure you’ll hear from Lyss soon since she has quite a bit to tell you but that’s all from me for now.

See ya soon!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

One thought on “An Update

  1. All The Jazz 08/01/15 / 10:24p05

    I RELATE. For the past two weeks I had a cough that was DREADFUL, I kept having coughing fits and my throat was so sore from all the coughing, everytime I coughed my throat killed like crazy! I’m thankful because nobody really said anything or laughed, some girls from the ‘popular’ group acted dramatically and moved away from me. But then I was saved because a boy that sat beside me saw that I’d stopped working because I was mid coughing fit and he offered to finish my work, nicest thing anyone has done for me in a LONG time!
    I’m better now, I had to get antibiotics😔 I hope you’re better xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

