My Experience In Trying To Find A Job

9/3/17 

Hey guys, welcome back. Today, I wanted to share a story with you, one about growing up and realizing that the world just isn’t fair.

Where Lyss and I live, you can get your working papers at age 14. And because I never do anything, I figured, why not, I’ll try to find a job. 

My mother was chatting to the owner of a local bakery a little while ago and I happened to come up in conversation. Long story short, the owner said she’d be happy to meet me and possibly hire me when I got my papers. 

You have to get your working papers through your school guidance counselor (don’t ask, I don’t know why either) and because it’s summer, I can’t get my papers until school is in session Wednesday. 

I met the owner of the bakery on Tuesday after Freshman orientation, and she was lovely. She told me that at the moment they were fully staffed but she’d give me a call when there was an opening. I thought this was great, things were looking good for me. 

Lyss went to speak to her on Thursday because she wanted a job as well. We’ve been talking about this for a while now, excited about possibly working together. 

Yesterday, while out shopping for jeans, Lyss texted me and told me that she’d been hired and was set to begin training next week. And although I was so incredibly happy for her, my heart sunk a little. 

Why had they called Lyss and not me? My name has been on the wait list for weeks since my mother first spoke to her and neither of us have our papers yet. 

So today I went back to the bakery to speak to the owner and ask what had happened. To see if maybe she misplaced my contact information or something like that. 

I walked in and asked the girl working behind the counter if the owner was there, she told me she was in the back and would let her know I wanted to talk to her. 

When the owner came out, I explained the situation and asked what had happened. To which she replied, “Look, I’ll be honest with you, the reason I called her is because she knows one of the girls who works here. She still has to go through training and get me her papers and even then she’ll have to wait for an opening. I still have all your information and I’ll give you a call if there’s a spot open.” 

I knew exactly which girl Lyss knew. I walked out and went home with tears running down my cheeks. I don’t know if we have a name for her and I honestly can’t be bothered to check, but Lyss and I have been dealing with this girl for years and her older sister works at the bakery. 

I’m not friends with this girl but Lyss is. Personally, I don’t like her, I think she’s fake and one of those people who drags everyone down with them when they find themselves in a messy situation. 

I wasn’t called to be trained for a job because I didn’t want to be friends with someone who wouldn’t be a good friend. 

And of course my parents said that’s how it works and how it always has and that it’s not fair. And it’s not.

Of course I’m over the moon with joy for Lyss and want her to get the job more than anything, I’m just hurt that because I chose to cut toxic people out of my life, this had to happen. 

If you can take anything from this story, let it be that life isn’t and never will be fair for everyone. Don’t get too upset if things don’t work out the way you wanted them to because it happens to everyone. Everything turns out okay in the end. 

See ya soon!!!

-Dani

(^^)/

5 thoughts on “My Experience In Trying To Find A Job

  1. Em is Lost 08/01/15 / 10:24p09

    That’s so, so wrong to hire someone because of who they know. I hope you can find another job some day and don’t be disheartened, sometimes things aren’t meant to be ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Em is Lost 08/01/15 / 10:24p09

      But obviously congratulations for Lyss for getting a job, job hunting is hard!

      Liked by 1 person

    • lyssndani 08/01/15 / 10:24p09

      Thanks Em, means a lot. I’m trying not to be sad but it kinda did make my day turn out to be a bad one. Thank you for your constant support and encouragement 💙
      -Dani

      Liked by 1 person

      • Em is Lost 08/01/15 / 10:24p09

        You’re very welcome. It’s hard but you’ll get over it soon I’m sure ❤ no problem at all

        Like

  2. ItsSimplyMeJasmine 08/01/15 / 10:24p09

    Oh no, that was awful! To hire someone just because it’s someone they know is so wrong😔
    I do hope you can find another job that, who knows, could be a much better fit for you than the bakery one! 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

